15 JANUARY–27 FEBRUARY Ensemble Theatre $74–$79 + BF
KENNY
KENNY
15 JANUARY–27 FEBRUARY Ensemble Theatre $74–$79 + BF
15 JANUARY–27 FEBRUARY
KENNY
$74–$79 + BF
ENSEMBLE THEATRE PRODUCTION WORLD PREMIERE

When your work can’t get any lower your expectations can only soar. A knight in shining overalls, portable toilet engineer Kenny Smyth is proud of his job, despite his Dad’s put-downs and the ignorance of a public that can’t get by without him.

In this big-hearted and hilarious salute to ordinary decency, KENNY’s off-beat humour and optimism are a timely and inspirational reminder that dignity is earned not awarded, and that all that glitters isn’t necessarily gold.

Adapted for the stage by playwright Steve Rodgers from the smash-hit Aussie mockumentary by filmmaking siblings Shane and Clayton Jacobson, KENNY stars Ben Wood (The Big Time) as the dunny man with a big heart, a big wrench and a bottomless bucket of the choicest one-liners.

Runtime: 90 mins

Venue
Performance Times

Fri 15 Jan at 8.15pm (preview)
Sat 16 Jan at 4.30pm (preview)
Sat 16 Jan at 8.15pm (preview)
Sun 17 Jan at 5pm (preview)
Tue 19 Jan at 11am (preview)
Tue 19 Jan at 7.30pm (preview)
Wed 20 Jan at 8.15pm (opening)
Thu 21 Jan at 8.15pm
Fri 22 Jan at 8.15pm
Sat 23 Jan at 4.30pm
Sat 23 Jan at 8.15pm
Sun 24 Jan at 5pm
Tue 26 Jan at 7.30pm
Wed 27 Jan at 7.30pm
Thu 28 Jan at 11am
Thu 28 Jan at 8.15pm
Fri 29 Jan at 8.15pm (followed by Q&A)
Sat 30 Jan at 4.30pm
Sat 30 Jan at 8.15pm
Sun 31 Jan at 5pm
Tue 2 Feb at 11am
Tue 2 Feb at 7.30pm
Wed 3 Feb at 7.30pm
Thu 4 Feb at 11am
Thu 4 Feb at 8.15pm
Fri 5 Feb at 8.15pm
Sat 6 Feb at 4.30pm
Sat 6 Feb at 8.15pm
Tue 9 Feb at 11am
Tue 9 Feb at 7.30pm
Wed 10 Feb at 7.30pm
Thu 11 Feb at 11am
Thu 11 Feb at 8.15pm
Fri 12 Feb at 8.15pm
Sat 13 Feb at 4.30pm
Sat 13 Feb at 8.15pm
Tue 16 Feb at 11am
Tue 16 Feb at 7.30pm
Wed 17 Feb at 7.30pm
Thu 18 Feb at 11am (audio described)
Thu 18 Feb at 8.15pm
Fri 19 Feb at 8.15pm
Sat 20 Feb at 4.30pm (audio described)
Sat 20 Feb at 8.15pm
Tue 23 Feb at 11am (followed by Q&A)
Tue 23 Feb at 7.30pm
Wed 24 Feb at 7.30pm
Thu 25 Feb at 11am
Thu 25 Feb at 8.15pm
Fri 26 Feb at 8.15pm
Sat 27 Feb at 4.30pm
Sat 27 Feb at 8.15pm (closing)

Ticketing and Pricing
  • PREVIEWS + WEEKDAY MORNINGS
    A Reserve Full Price
    – $74
    A Reserve Senior – $71
    A Reserve Pensioner – $67
    A Reserve Full Time Student – $38
    + booking fee

    EVENINGS & WEEKEND MATINEES
    A Reserve Full Price
     – $79
    A Reserve Senior – $76
    A Reserve Pensioner – $72
    A Reserve Full Time Student – $43
    + booking fee

    Please note that paired seats cannot be split, therefore if you are after a single seat please select a seat that is on its own.
    If you are after other configurations, please contact the Sydney Festival office during business hours.

Important Info

Recommended for ages 12+

A strict lockout period applies. Please arrive early to avoid disappointment. 

Cast and Credits

Cast Ben Wood
Writers Clayton Jacobson & Shane Jacobson
Adaptor Steve Rodgers
Director Mark Kilmurry
Assistant Director Warwick Doddrell
Set & Costume Designer Simone Romaniuk
Lighting Designer Damien Cooper
Sound Designer Nate Edmondson
Video Designer Mic Gruchy
Stage Manager Erin Shaw
Costume Supervisor Margaret Gill

Photo: Christian Trinder


Create an account

Plan your festival! save your favourite events and share with friends.

{{form.response.errors.name[0]}}
{{form.response.errors.email[0]}}
{{form.response.errors.password[0]}}
{{form.response.errors.password_confirm[0]}}
{{form.response.message}}
Forgot Password

Forgotten your password?

Enter your email below to have your password sent to the address

{{form.response.errors.email[0]}}
{{form.response.message}}

Waitlist

{{form.response.errors.name[0]}}
{{form.response.errors.email[0]}}
{{form.response.message}}

Register Interest

{{form.response.errors.name[0]}}
{{form.response.errors.email[0]}}
{{form.response.message}}

{{form.response.errors.name[0]}}

{{form.response.errors.email[0]}}

{{form.response.errors.postcode[0]}}
{{form.response.message}}
{{form.response.message}}
{{form.response.message}}