Black Cockatoo
ENSEMBLE THEATRE | AUSTRALIA
World Premiere
4 JANUARY–8 FEBRUARY Ensemble Theatre From $74 + BF 90 MINS
{{page + 1}} / {{pages}}
EVENT INFO
VENUE
WHEN
  • Sat 4 Jan at 8.15pm (preview)
    Sun 5 Jan at 5.00pm (preview)
    Tue 7 Jan at 11.00am (preview)
    Tue 7 Jan at 7.30pm (preview)
    Wed 8 Jan at 7.30pm (preview)
    Thu 9 Jan at 8.15pm
    Fri 10 Jan at 8.15pm
    Sat 11 Jan at 4.30pm
    Sat 11 Jan at 8.15pm
    Sun 12 Jan at 5.00pm
    Tue 14 Jan at 11.00am
    Wed 15 Jan at 7.30pm
    Thu 16 Jan at 11.00am
    Thu 16 Jan at 8.15pm
    Fri 17 Jan at 8.15pm* 
    Sat 18 Jan at 4.30pm
    Sat 18 Jan at 8.15pm
    Sun 19 Jan at 5.00pm
    Tue 21 Jan at 11.00am
    Tue 21 Jan at 7.30pm
    Wed 22 Jan at 7.30pm
    Thu 23 Jan at 11.00am***
    Thu 23 Jan at 8.15pm
    Fri 24 Jan at 8.15pm
    Sat 25 Jan at 4.30pm**
    Sat 25 Jan at 8.15pm
    Tue 28 Jan at 11.00am
    Wed 29 Jan at 7.30pm
    Thu 30 Jan at 11.00am
    Thu 30 Jan at 8.15pm
    Fri 31 Jan at 8.15pm
    Sat 1 Feb at 4.30pm
    Sat 1 Feb at 8.15pm
    Sun 2 Feb at 5.00pm
    Tue 4 Feb at 11.00am
    Tue 4 Feb at 7.30pm
    Wed 5 Feb at 7.30pm
    Thu 6 Feb at 11.00am
    Thu 6 Feb at 8.15pm*
    Fri 7 Feb at 8.15pm
    Sat 8 Feb at 4.30pm
    Sat 8 Feb at 8.15pm

    * Followed by Q&A
    ** Audio Described
    *** 
    Audio Described w/ Tactile Tour at 10.20am

TICKETS & PRICING
  • A Reserve Full Price (Previews & Weekday Mornings) – $74
    A Reserve Full Price (Evenings & Weekend Matinees) – $79
    + booking fee
Black Cockatoo
ENSEMBLE THEATRE | AUSTRALIA
World Premiere

In 1868, 13 Aboriginal men from country Victoria became the first Australian cricket team to tour England.

Starring Australia’s first Indigenous sporting hero Unaarrimin, AKA Johnny Mullagh, they represented a nation in waiting that wouldn’t recognise their rights – or even their humanity – for another century.

Written by iconic screenwriter Geoffrey Atherden (Mother and Son, BabaKiueria) with award-winning director Wesley Enoch (Black Diggers, Sydney Festival 2014), Black Cockatoo begins in the present day with a group of young activists breaking into a museum to expose the truth of what happened to Johnny and his mates. A story of triumph and tragedy unfolds, spanning from the wild frontiers of western Victoria to the upper-class home of cricket, Lord’s.

Directed by Enoch and starring Luke Carroll, Joseph Althouse, Chenoa Deemal, Aaron McGrath, Colin Smith and Dubs Yunupiŋgu, this funny and moving play is about more than sport – it’s a story of resilience, resistance and inspiration.

Created in association with Sydney Festival

Accessibility
Important Info

Content Warning: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander audiences are advised that this show contains depictions of people who have died.

Recommended for ages 12+

Cast and Credits
Playwright Geoffrey Atherden 
Director Wesley Enoch (Noonuccal Nuugi)
Cultural Consultant Uncle Richard Kennedy (Wotjobaluk traditional owner and descendant of First XI team member, Dick-a-dick)
Assistant Director/Choreographer Yolande Brown (Bidjara Clan of Kunja Nation)
Set & Costume Designer Richard Roberts
Lighting Designer Trent Suidgeest
Associate Lighting Designer Shiloh Jarrett (Gumbyngirr/Anmatjere)
Sound Designer Steve Francis
Associate Sound Designer Brendon Boney (Wiradjuri/Gamilaroi)
Dramaturg Jane Fitzgerald
Stage Manager: Natalie Moir
Assistant Stage Manager: Alira McKenzie Williams
Cast Joseph Althouse, Luke Carroll, Chenoa Deemal, Aaron McGrath, Colin Smith and Dubs Yunupiŋgu


An Ensemble Theatre Production in association with Sydney Festival

Supported by The Balnaves Foundation, Australia Council for the Arts and the NSW Government

4 JANUARY–8 FEBRUARY
From $74 + BF
90 MINS
★★★★★
"Not just one of the highlights of this year’s Festival but a new high point in telling a national narrative on the stage"
The Guardian (for 'Black Diggers', 2014)
LOADING...

Create an account

Plan your festival! save your favourite events and share with friends.

{{form.response.errors.name[0]}}
{{form.response.errors.email[0]}}
{{form.response.errors.password[0]}}
{{form.response.errors.password_confirm[0]}}
{{form.response.message}}
Forgot Password

Forgotten your password?

Enter your email below to have your password sent to the address

{{form.response.errors.email[0]}}
{{form.response.message}}

Waitlist

{{form.response.errors.name[0]}}
{{form.response.errors.email[0]}}
{{form.response.message}}

Register Interest

{{form.response.errors.name[0]}}
{{form.response.errors.email[0]}}
{{form.response.message}}

{{form.response.errors.name[0]}}

{{form.response.errors.email[0]}}

{{form.response.errors.postcode[0]}}
{{form.response.message}}
{{form.response.message}}
{{form.response.message}}